8 comments on “On Sharpness

    • We all succumb to the allure of sharpness now and again. Recognizing that there’s more to good photography is the first step toward recovery….

    • Agreed that sharpness can be an important and useful element in many photos, but it’s certainly not going to make or break a picture all by itself. And I have to say there are more than a few distinctly unsharp photos I love (not mine) that I think would be less interesting if they were sharper.

  1. Well said. I have lenses in both categories and when choosing a camera/film/lens combo to shoot with, sharpness is rarely a consideration at all. All hail the Brownie meniscus and the Industar-26!

    • Yep, I’ve got lenses that are plenty sharp too, but I very rarely think about that when making my selection. I’ve already got more than enough things complicating my decision-making process….

  2. Couldn’t have said it better myself. My TV is about 15 years old and perfectly adequate because there’s not much worth watching; a few months ago I stayed in a hotel with a 40″ HD TV and it almost made my eyes hurt; and the programmes were still awful

Leave a Reply

