5 comments on “Fun with Tubes

  1. I use extensions tubes a lot on the Hasselblad even for portraits and I remember that “back in the days”, when I was in college, I had something for my Nikon called and inversion ring which allows the lens to be mounted the other way around on the camera body and thus taking advantage of the huge magnification.

    It’s fascinating to see the world like this. Love the pictures and I agree, the softness really helps the dreamy feel.

    Please forgive my poor English.

    • Nothing at all wrong with your English; frankly, it’s better than a lot of native speakers.

      I’ve heard about inversion rings – I wonder how the magnification compares with the various tube lengths (the set I got has 7, 14, and 28mm rings). Time for a little more research….

      Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

  2. Pingback: Reverse lens | Cooking Film

    • Well, it all depends on what you want to achieve. Certainly, there are more clinical ways to go about using extension tubes (and pretty much any other photographic technique), but as I noted in the original post, the soft, Impressionistic look works for me. I’m not really after sharpness, especially in what for me is an experimental technique, and one I don’t use very often at that, so I’m happy enough to just throw the aperture open, fire away, and see what turns up.

      Your comment reminds me to dig out my extension tubes – the leaves are changing and there might be some opportunities to be had.

Leave a Reply

