4 comments on “On Choosing Films

  1. What a thoughtful, generous post you’ve put together. Thank you for the excellent read, and for sharing your opinions and experiences. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  2. Good insights as always and good advice. I have accumulated so many different stocks that it is practically impossible for me to call anything a ‘go to’ emulsion. I guess, if I had to pick one I would also go with Tri-X. Its flexibility and reliability make it an easy choice, but like you said, it all comes down to what you want your own photos to look like. Thanks for sharing.

    • Yeah, accumulation is a problem. With the price of film edging ever upward, it’s always tempting to grab something that’s cheap right now, since it might not be cheap tomorrow. I’ve got a few random rolls of stuff floating around that I really should just use up for the sake of order.

      It’s hard to argue with Tri-X as a go-to – certainly, you’ll get no argument from me – but there’s just so much of the equation that comes down to individual tastes.

Leave a Reply

