11 comments on “Size Matters

  1. I have the Rollei 35, Fed 2 and Canon P and the last, by far, gets the most use because it’s the easiest to use. All three are good shooters, though.

    • I tend to agree – the P is wonderfully natural to use, while both of the others require a little more deliberate thought. I do find, however, that sometimes I want to use a camera that makes me work a little harder; it helps me to see things differently and consider new ways of shooting. But it’s often hard to resist the temptation to just grab the P and go.

        • Yes, I suppose that’s a point worth making – digital tends to encourage all but eliminating any sort of process (at least for me). Even with the P, there’s always the consideration of framing and exposure; the additional thought process I find necessary with the others is more about the equipment itself.

    • Oh yes, everything is relative – a Rollieflex is on the large end of my camera collection. Sure, it’s portable, but it’s not the kind of thing I’d want to try to carry if I was trying to travel light. It most certainly will not fit in a pocket (well, none of my pockets, anyway 😉 )

        • Glasses do make it hard to use many cameras (I wear contacts normally, but I have shot while wearing glasses). If you haven’t tried one already, consider a rangefinder with a 1:1 viewfinder. I have found the Canon P’s finder to be far easier to use than my other RFs; even with glasses you can still see quite a bit of the finder relatively easily (though again, everything’s relative…).

          • Yeah. One day I’ll try a Canon P or Bessa R3A/M. Not the cheapest cameras though to try out. But now that I live near a big city I might actually find a shop where I can try one out.

            As far as compact goes I’m currently eyeing the Pentax MX with the 40mm f/2.8 pancake. That seems relatively small for an SLR.

            • I’ve never used an MX, but it does have a reputation of being pretty small. I understand the Olympus OM-series is another small SLR option that’s well-regarded. The tiny lens will help for sure, but you can’t do much about the prism housing; then again, if carrying a Rolleiflex doesn’t bother you, I don’t think an SLR body will be much of an issue.

            • Actually size alone doesn’t bother me that much. It’s weight that’s a problem for me. And those aren’t always linked.

Leave a Reply

